Posted by: flamingodebra | April 18, 2014

Some finishes

I finished another customer quilt, that makes 3 so far this year, I took the winter off of quilting for others thinking I’d get so many of mine done that I’d free up a whole closet full of space. I started more than I finished, so technically, I am further behind than when I started!

This is Leona’s Cosmic Jewels, it’s a king sized quilt, made with a kit bought at Heart n Sole in Grand Forks…. beautiful!
010

006

005

While I was retreat last week, I finished nothing, made some progress on a few things and started this one. Then I found out that a great friend’s daughter received horrible health news. This young woman has faced a few big challenges and triumphed like a trooper so I am certain she’ll continue to do so with this one! She has a wonderful family and a huge support system. About all I can do in these situations is make a quilt, so here’s hers, the front is a couple of jelly rolls and the back has the Healing Tree on it….. she loves bright colours, so I think she’ll like this! I put wool batting in it and washed it….. looks and feels snuggly.

012

011

I got an email the other day ‘Start a Mother/Daughter Book Club’….. and my daughter thought that it would be a great idea…. so she got to pick the first book, we are starting with The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, I’ll let you know how it goes!

Responses

  1. Hello Debra, are there any classes coming up? I don’t want to miss them. Thanks Cathy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Just Flamingo Club on the first Wednesday, May 7….. 11:15, 1:15, 3:00 or 6:30 pm – it’s a demo of a pattern/tecnique and you get copy of the pattern and a sample of fabric for $5….. as well as a 20% discount on your purchases that day!!!

  3. Love the filler on Leona’s quilt!

    The get-well quilt certainly does look cozy! Will have to try out the wool batting. The back is just as nice as the front, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

