Posted by: flamingodebra | July 10, 2013

Where does the time go?

It has been more than a month since my last post….. that month has included a wonderful, but busy, trip to Calgary for a Party for my Mom! She turned 70 this year and wanted to have a gathering and it was so great. Many people visited throughout the day, people I haven’t seen since I was a kid, the girl guide leaders, the friends from school, the grandkids friends. Everyone loves Granny Franny, and she was so thrilled to see each and every person that came out!

Then a few weeks after we got home…. the big flood in Calgary – the only day in the history of the world my dear daughter leaves her cell phone at home, the city declares a state of emergency….. she was flying out to a trade show that afternoon and she had a work phone….. took me texting until noon before I remembered….. everyone was alright but (as I knew would happen) they spent a considerable amount of time trying to figure out a route downtown…. am I the only one that watches the news?

So many people I know are busy helping out, pumping, hauling muddy garbage and doing many things to ease the devastation experienced by scads of people. Alison and Kevin ran around Airdrie collecting blankets and necessities for the residents of High River and took two or three loads to Blackie that first day…… others offered their homes to strangers (thank you for your concern for my friends in Turner Valley) and it was a great feeling to know that Calgarians are still Calgarians, a great sense of Community.

I spent some time thinking of what I could do. I quilt, I’m far away and I want to help. I found quilters in Calgary and Edmonton collecting quilts for Southern Alberta Flood victims. My Sewing Room in Calgary and Sparrow Studioz in Edmonton as well as Traditional Pastimes in Calgary – and I am sure there are more – are coordinating efforts (they’re also looking for volunteers if you’re in their areas to do many things). So I put out the word to my fellow quilters in the West Kootenays.

I am off to Calgary next week, July 18 to drop off a LOAD of quilts! (The shop will be closed July 18, 19 and 20th) I figured I could get some of those quilts out of my closet finished off and maybe people might want to send some too……. at this point, I have over 30 completed quilts to take with me, a couple of tops with backs and there are some still coming from a gathering we had on Friday last week! Quilters are such generous people that I knew I’d get some but the response has been overwhelming….. we have a few ladies that are willing to quilt tops and apply binding…. and Calgary has a team all set up to quilt too if needed……

So there’s still time and there’s still room in the truck, so if you’d like to participate, please do! They are asking for quilts of any size so whatever you would like to come up with, please do.

They are accepting quilts right up until September 1st, and I have had offers of other shipping methods too…. so if you can’t make it in this week, there is still time!

Leave a Reply

Categories

