Posted by: flamingodebra | December 9, 2012

What a week!

 Pink Friday was a huge success!  Look at all of the empty bolts in our recycling pile!  and there’s a bit of space (but not much because more stuff arrived this week :O)001

The last weekend of November was a sewing weekend, a group of gals rented a room at a local former school and settled in to get some sewing done, I got the majority of my Christmas gifts put together but I can’t share – in case any of my family and friends read this blog post…..

I have quilted lots and lots of quilts over the past few weeks it seems, and put together some of the blocks from the Spring Bouquet Block of the Month that we are started up on Tuesday, December 4th.  It’s so easy to make something pretty like this!  We still have 2 spots left and you can join up any time!010

Here are some quilts you may not have seen yet…..This is Jean H’s quilt for her brand New Grandson!  Proud Grandma and Grampa are thrilled with the new addition to the family…..it’s been a few weeks now and they are still grinning ear to ear!003004

This is Carol’s Quilt.  She did this gorgeous floral quilt and then asked me to put large flowers on it!  What fun for me…… and Carol had some sketches and that helped a lot!  I also looked up some pansy pictures on Pinterest so I could get some thread colours right006007008009010011

These are Rhonda’s quilts, the Asian Circles is pieced perfectly and the Turtle quilt is from a trip to Hawaii….. so cute!002003

008

006

And because I have the coolest “Job” in the world, I got to work on Nina’s Turtle Quilt too…..  015016

Amongst all the excitement, Noeline from Trend-Tex came for a visit.  She brought many many samples from Quilt Market and she also delivered my new Quilt Ladder…. made by her wonderful husband Dale,  he does beautiful work!  Did I ever show you my “Mother of the Bride” box that he made for me……gorgeous!

002028

Dale does sell his creations, many beautiful things including the Big Ironing Board so if you have something you’d like, I can put you in touch….. the ladder can be shipped in pieces and I had my choice of finishes too!

Here are Cheryl C’s Quilts,  The brown Courthouse Steps quilt is a wedding gift for a nephew and the Asian quilt was a ‘Just because she loved the fabric and couldn’t resist’ quilt…… what a great thing!

001004

And….. being as blessed as I am  – with many things, including being surrounded by wonderful, generous, creative people, I got some early Christmas gifts.  My very own Flamingo Mug Rug from Joy R, Spice Girl and Boy (they were delicious and I did share with Frank) from Elsie, a Crocheted Pointsettia all the way from Sharon in Ontario and a tin of Fudge from Stephanie in Grand Forks….. it was 3 layers of decadance and it’s all gone, so there’s no pics (even pictures would have made your mouth water, you should thank me for taking in all the calories myself)

007008

Responses

  1. Great stuff Debra….Merry Christmas all!

  2. What an interesting newsletter… loved the quilts and the stories.

  3. Thanx so much! Wishing everyone a wonderful Holiday Season!


Leave a Reply

Categories

