Posted by: flamingodebra | July 1, 2012

Slipping Away

Time has been slipping away from me lately.  We had our second instalment of the Block of the Month and I am excited to see lots of different quilts coming together….. I love it when there are so many of the “same” quilt but all different fabrics, that’s what hooked me in my first formal quilting class….I actually have only had one quilt on the frame in the month of June.  That’s my Judy Neimeyer Sea Urchin that I pieced over the span of 4 and a half years.  Then it took more than two weeks (on and off) to quilt it.  I need to have ONE completed quilt for the Castlegar Quilt Show October 19, 20 and 21.  So I just have to bind it.  I want to try out the Piping Hot piping tool I got….. so that’ll be a few weeks before I get a chance to get that together.

Some of the new Christmas Fabrics have arrived!  Blitzen by Basic Grey fat quarters and 9  bolts and I cannot wait to get this pattern on the go……I will put it together using the fast half square triangle method we learned in May and I may even use the Quilters Grid to piece it.

Quilters Grid is my new favourite notion/aid /lifesaver….. it is basically a lightweight fusible interfacing with a grid marked on it.  It has been around for years….many have used it for watercolour quilts but I recently saw a video where it was being used for  a quilt with sashings and cornerstones…. so I tried it!  With the new Bright and Happy Fabrics that came in  to save us from drowning in all the rain we’ve been having….go ahead and look really close…. my sashings line up!  Here’s a link to the video about the product, it really is that easy.

 

 

And we also have the grid On Point so that you can pop one of these together in no time too…..

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is another day of piecing because I hesitate to have my quilting machine plugged in when there is lightning in the sky……. This Layer Cake of Little Black Dress by Basic Grey has been taunting me since it came in May.  So I cut some 10″ squares of Black Grunge and whipped up this top with the 10-Minute Block and it is stunning! 

Leave a Reply

Categories

