Posted by: flamingodebra | January 7, 2012

Cleaning up!

At the end of a year we tend to try to clear out and clean up to get ready for the New Year….. so I figured I should get some pictures up that I haven’t posted yet and show you what I’ve been up to too.

Here’s a quilt put together by a group of women that ride motorcycles for one of their birthdays.  Family and friends each do a block and these ones are very creative!

and….. the Castlegar Quilters Guild had some fabric donated and they used it to make over 50 pillowcases!  We added a few that had been donated by generous quilters, added it to the One Million Pillowcase Challenge counter and donated them to our local Christmas Hampers – a total of 58.

And I  made Christmas stockings for my family in Calgary and I was able to get Christmas into boxes and off in plenty of time – a first for me!

Between Christmas and New Years, I was able to quilt two of the “Flamingo Challenge” quilts.  Approximately 6 years ago, I had quilters take a pizza box that contained 4 different fabrics and asked them to make their favourite blocks to finish at 10″.  In exchange I quilted for them.  So, I had about 500 blocks to make into bedspreads for the Motel rooms.  Linda Chm made me enough blocks that worked up into a quilt top that got quilted when a guest wanted the existing quilt from her bed to take home.  I didn’t have another one to fit that bed so I had to get that one quilted that day.  A year ago, Linda asked me how those quilts were going and took a stack of blocks home and made up two  more tops for me.  I finally got them quilted and bound…..

Hedy made this Moonglow quilt for a friend of hers, could I be your friend Hedy?  What a wonderful gift!

And Cheryl C did a ‘Two-For’  She got two quilts quilted as one…. she’s also getting lots of projects finished up that have been in her sewing room for a while, so we quilted one onto the back of another….. it is a real trick to get the one on the back perfectly centred to the one on the front, we can always get really close, but never guarantee that it will be exact…..

So, now I have to get some bookwork done, get prepared for upcoming classes and continue to quilt and quilt and quilt…… We still have spaces open for the Strata Star on Saturday January 21st, and the Stuck on Curves Saturday February 4th.   We may have a Celtic class on Thursday January 19th or 26th or both if we have enough interest.  Friday, January 13th is a Beginner Basket class and there is one spot left in that one.  All it takes is two people (up to 4) with the same date available to take the same class…… just let me know!

Leave a Reply

Categories

