Posted by: flamingodebra | May 23, 2011

A Break…. Soon

Okay, so I usually take off at the end of April, go to visit my Family in Calgary and get to Medicine Hat to see my 92 year old Grandma in time for Mother’s Day….. but this year, my daughter is Graduating with a Bachelor of Business Administration Degree from Mount Royal University and her Convocation Ceremonies are on June 3.  So I adjusted my travel dates to be there for the ceremonies, and, as it turns out, I’ll be in Calgary for the Quilt Show at Heritage Park too….. as a spectator only though, which should be great!  I am looking forward to that, I go to lots and lots of shows and I don’t ever seem to actually SEE the quilts in the show.

I have been working hard to prepare for my trip, including pillowcases and Mother’s Day gifts….. and of course, I have been desparately trying to keep up with my quilt schedule too.  So here are some quilts that have been on my frame in the last few weeks!

This is Bern’s Land of Maples from a class we did with Diane Jansen a few years back.  the colours are actually very beautiful but my camera seems to wash them out….

A quilt for Me!  Sharon sends me quilts from Ontario….. and I got a couple more to do recently and this was in the box too……. it speaks for itself! 

This was Sharon S’s quilt, beautiful soft sage greens, peachy terracottas and a soft gold, everything went together so well, and such soothing colours…… this sampler was very relaxing to quilt!

This was what we call a “Biker Chick” quilt.  There’s a group of women that ride motocycles and when someone has a ‘special’ birthday (50 or 60) each of the girlfriends makes a block for the quilt….. it is usually quite an interesting quilt.  This one had a family portrait embroidered onto a block.

This is Shirley F’s BQ3 quilt, made for her husband.  We have all of these fabrics in the shop in purple/mauve backgrounds (not the blue).

These are the aliens on a quilt that the Sunshine Quilters of Grand Forks will be raffling off on Labour Day weekend along with another Black and White quilt and quite likely a few more excellent prizes.

This is Joanne’s quilt, nice mix of batiks and prints, a very pretty quilt.

This is also Joanne’s wallhanging, I am guessing she used the Curve Play pattern and made up a couple of these wallhangings.  Great vibrant fall colours.

This is Lynne H’s quilt, she made it for her son and daughter-in-law…. we quilted it with a design to look like a topographical map…. an idea I got in a class a few years back, but it was perfect for this quilt I think.

So I will be away and the shop will be closed on Friday May27 and for the whole next week and I’ll be back on Tuesday June 7th!  Moda Club will be that day for sure too!

Leave a Reply

Categories

