Posted by: flamingodebra | May 13, 2010

I’m Back

I got home on Tuesday evening.  What a trip, there was so much to do and almost everything got done thanks to all of the help we had from family and friends – A Big Thank You to Everyone.

My Dad’s service was really nice, over 100 people showed up and it was really great to reconnect with many people I haven’t seen for many years.  There were lots of people there that knew my dad that I hadn’t met before and the ones I did get to meet were really great.  The Saskatchewan family and friends that drove through the snowstorm to get there were stationed all on one floor of a hotel and we were able to join them for a cocktail after the service….. Dad would’ve loved that.  Even my Grandma enjoyed her visit with them and was able to tease me in front of the whole group – her hearing aid battery was dead so she was a little louder than usual.

Everyone contributed pictures for our picture board and I think almost everyone there was able to pick out some memories from them.  Camping trips, golfing trips, winter vacations with groups of friends, a ride in the TBird, a ‘jam’ session, dancing at weddings or just sitting around the dinner table, Dad always enjoyed to have people around and made sure everyone had a lot of fun.

and…. my favourite picture my mom had – this is my Grampa, my Dad and my Brother Todd…. all playing guitars – and my dad was singing…. he couldn’t read music but he could pick anything up and played by ear.

Responses

  1. Debra

    I so sorry to hear about your father’s passing. I’ll be thinking of you. I lost my mom last year and I miss her terribly. I know what you are going through. Allow it does get easier, ther still is a big void.

    Juananne

  2. What a wonderful tribute to your dad, Debra! Hang onto those great memories!


Leave a Reply

Categories

