Posted by: flamingodebra | August 20, 2009

A little extra time…

Well, this week, I thought I would get soooo much done.  My husband went away for a few days and I figured that would allow me to just do my own thing, uninterrupted…. turns out it makes no difference.  There’s flowers to water and fish to feed and garbage to take care of…. so I haven’t actually accomplished anything more than if he was home.  I think I am really getting less done.

Sunday afternoon, I was wandering around here cleaning rooms and this cool van pulls in…. 4wheel drive, steering wheel on the wrong side with two smiley young fellas and their mom – Lisa Thiessen.  She’s just a bundle of energy!  and she was so kind as to will me her Quilt Stand that her husband made for her for Quilt Shows!  and…. two boxes of pantograph patterns for the long-arm….I haven’t ever been able to wrap my head around working from the back of the machine but these are soooo cool, I will definitely have to learn how to do it! Many of the patterns are Lisa’s own designs – available from Willow Leaf Studios and they are just stunning!  Thank you soooo much Lisa! and Isaac and Max!

These are some quilts that went home this week, Ruth came to town yesterday from Grand Forks to pick up her Log Cabin Star and her Scrappy Star…. lots of patience and planning in that scrappy quilt.

IMG_1292IMG_1293IMG_1294          IMG_1295IMG_1296

                                                                           This is Nina’s quilt.  She likes to do this cross pattern – I can’t for the life of me recall the name of it – and we wanted something ‘celticy’ in the cross portions and an all-over patter that included flowers and butterflies.

IMG_1288IMG_1289IMG_1291

Responses

  1. Hi, Debra:
    This is called a Southern Cross pattern.
    I loved the quilting you did. The rosettes in the corners are really lovely. Deyanne Davies and I spent sometime one afternoon marvelling over the intricacies of your work.
    Thank you once again.
    Nina

  2. 🙂
    *smooch*

  3. Smooch back, hope all is well, busy with school/work I’m sure…C U soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

