Posted by: flamingodebra | July 11, 2009

Has it really been that long?

The last few weeks have just flown by, I didn’t realize that it had been almost 10 days since my last post.  How neglectful I have been….. its been busy.  I have been quilting and quilting, picking and pitting cherries, trying a new weight loss method/program (results Tuesday if they’re good) and fabric shopping again :0.

These are some quilts that I did for some quilters from Grand Forks.  This is Cathy’s quilt from Heart n Sole Quilts.  She always does wild and crazy combinations of bold fabrics and this one has a few mild calicos thrown in for good measure.IMG_1170IMG_1171

 

 

 

 

 

This one belongs to Evelyn.  It’s from a pattern called Eureka by Maple Island Designs…. cool idea and great fabrics.  I loved this quilt, everyone that saw it was sooooIMG_1181 impressed! IMG_1178IMG_1179

 

 

 

 

I’ve done a few more but they haven’t been picked up yet so I’ll post them then.  I am working on another Border Creek Double Cross and having fun with it.

Okay, so here’s a bit of a weird observation.  I was waiting for an appointment the other day and heard this commotion outside on the street.  I looked around to see a young man yelling at his mom to move her car out of the parking spot he wanted.  We live in a small place and there are lots of parking spots…. his mom moves her car and he parks in his desired spot.  Then he comes into the waiting room I’m in.  It’s (one of, we have many) an NHL Hockey player home for the summer.   Too bad that million dollar salary doesn’t make you more mature.  Fortunately, there were no 6 year olds around to see their idol talk to his mother like that.  I am of the opinion that that million dollar salary does pay you to “behave like the professional you are” whenever you are out in public, it’s all part of the game….. sure you don’t deserve to be hounded by paparazzi making up stories about you, but you really should show your mom some respect – I guess that goes for everyone, not just million dollar superstars.  Just my humble opinion….

Responses

  1. Love the quilts, esp Eureka. Would like to know the name of the hockey player so I will be sure not to cheer for him when the season resumes. What do you want to bet that the mom was the same mom who drove him at ungodly hours and terrible weather to practices and games? and did without things for herself so he could have the best of lessons and equipment to get him where he is today. I think it is shameful behaviour too.

  2. Hey Lorae! Glad you enjoy the quilts…. I’ll tell you that fella’s name next time I see you…. his little brother is a super nice kid. There’s good days and bad days for everyone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

