Posted by: flamingodebra | June 2, 2009

Summer Specials at the Quiltworx

I often wake up in the middle of the night with some awesome ideas….. so here’s what I came up with around 3 AM Monday morning….

Flamingo Quiltworx Summer Specials

 June July and August 2009

Tuesdays are Tax-Free Days

 we pay the GST and PST

 Fridays are 5 for $55

  any  combination that adds up to 5 metres for $55

 (20 fat quarters, 10 half metres)

 

Saturdays – Selected Bolts Sale some as low as $8/metre

 

Don’t forget Christmas in July! July 15 through the 31 25% off all stock

 this includes all fabric,  battings and backings, kits and pre-cuts, books and patterns

 These specials will run for June, July and August!  Don’t miss out!

We are open Tuesday through Saturday  from 11am to 5pm

 

After all that thinking and cleaning rooms, we went to Gabriel’s for lunch – we don’t get away for lunch much anymore so this was a real treat for me!  When we got back, there was a nice German couple here to check in and they had started in Florida a couple of months ago, made their way across the southern states and up the west coast.  They are headed back through Montana then through to the east coast to get back to Florida and go home in a month or so!  What a great trip that would be!  Then later on, a young man arrived on his bicycle – also from Germany, he has a week left on his four month trip and was riding 160 km per day so that he could have some time to tour Vancouver Island… he’s had to change his plans though and take care of some “medical” issues… a ‘sore bum’… that’s all I need to know.  We also had a gal from Calgary here this weekend.  She popped in to visit her grandchildren here on her way to the Ashram at Crawford Bay…. She may be back next week to tell me all about it!  I am so envious…. we got chatting about her travels, treks in Nepal, trips through Europe ,  Morocco, Costa Rican Spas(that may have been someone she met) but wow – I do love meeting these folks that have done such cool things in such exotic locales.

I had to spend my afternoon trying to finish my book.  I did finish this morning….. “Things I Want My Daughters to Know”  by Elizabeth Noble.  What a great read…. I was at the drug store the other day picking up a few things and I wandered into the books.  I was in a kind of funky mood and this book seemed to appeal to that mood.  I am so glad that I picked it up!  I started reading it Saturday morning when I got up at 5AM because I had tons of stuff to do and I ended up reading for quite a while… and Sunday morning, Frank felt the need to tell me twice what time we had to leave because I was thoroughly engrossed.  I have laughed and cried the whole time I was reading it.  I will get to the library in the next few days and see if I can find something else by this author.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

