Posted by: flamingodebra | February 12, 2009

So Far, So Good

Should we be suspicious with tomorrow being the 13th? and a Friday?  Who knows, it’s been a pretty good week for me, lunch with the girls on Tuesday for Deb’s birthday, Brunch with Lori today, just because she had a day off, pieced a little quilt yesterday and another today – but right on the long arm machine….. img_0738I’ll post some finished pictures.   These little quilts are going to Guatemala with a group of nurses from our local college.  img_0739I was also able to quilt this other Biker Chick quilt, it was pretty interesting.  I would like to find out the story behind the “Rat Sale” block.

img_0741img_0740It’s a lot of fun to work on these quilts, I pretty much get to do whatever I like.  Creative freedom is great. 

My Grandma turns 90 this weekend and I knit a shawl/scarf for her.  I hope she likes it.  She tried to teach me to knit when I was about 10, 11 and 12 but we ended up crocheting an afgan together instead because I just couldn’t get the tension even with the knitting needles.  So I finally tried again and ended up with this….

My model (Frank) is a little more broad shouldered than my Grandma so it should fit her just fine.  We are hoping to have a little get together for her birthday in the spring when everyone is close to being in the same place at the same time. The wool was called Marble Chunky by Brett and I got it at http://jeansmaterialthings.com, I also used Jean’s pattern from her monthly knitting newsletter…. it was fun, EASY and it went quickly…..Hopefully Grandma won’t see the design liberties (mistakes).

img_0718

Responses

  1. Nice and colourful! The fruits and veggies look yummy!

    Gorgeous yarn colour(s)! Your Grandma will be so touched! You have abit of her in you!

  2. thanx Gloria!


Leave a Reply

Categories

