Posted by: flamingodebra | December 17, 2008

Just in Time for Christmas

Well, yesterday was a very productive day.  Frank left town about 11:30 and Vita and I just kept working and finished two Quilts!  OK, they were both smaller and fun all-over designs and one was already loaded in the morning….. just feels good to say I did two in one day!

My friendly neighbourhood delivery man arrived today with some great new stuff!  Three new kits, some patterns and some new fabric that I have been waiting for – I am not disappointed…. so much so it was all I could do to not start cutting and sewing… and I wanted to dive in on one of the kits too.

img_0558img_0560img_0559

Here are the kits

img_0561img_0566img_0565

I quilted one of these Friends are the Flowers (Mary Englebreit for Moda)quilts.  I really liked the vibrant colours in the “Square Dance” by Sue Beevers for RJR and the last one is Sea Urchins by Judy Niemeyer in Hoffman Balis, I will endure the paper piecing to do this one!  The Patterns that came are by Mount Redoubt and called French Essence and uses the Gypsy Princess fabrics in blue and yellow that I posted yesterday.

img_0564

I also picked up a book last night that I couldn’t put down.  “The Best Year of Your Life, Dream it, Plan it, Live it”  by Debbie Ford.  Then you head to the website and download the worksheets that help you follow through www.thebestyearofyourlive.com .  I also went to http://jackcanfield.comand signed up for his Success Principles Mentorship program that went along with his book, Success Principles that I borrowed from the library as an audio book that I listened to while I was quilting.  I am always looking for some ideas to “improve” or “enhance” life at the Flamingo.  The most important lesson I have picked up this week was Plan to Plan….. plan time to plan.  Pretty simple.  In the past I have not done any planning aside from my quilting schedule and when that got away from me, I’d have to force myself to sit down and figure out which quilts had deadlines, how much time each would take and are there enough days to fit them all in…and there always is and I always feel so much better knowing that.  So why not skip the “I’m running out of time” meltdown and just plan ahead of time!  The plan can always change, nothing is set in stone, it all gets done eventually – and it turns out really quite nice, if I do say so myself!

Leave a Reply

Categories

