Posted by: flamingodebra | October 20, 2008

Award Winner!

This Quilt was named Best of Show in our quilt show this weekend and received the Canadian Quilter’s Association Ribbon.  The Quilt was made by Lynne Miskell for her son and daughter-in-law.  It is a gorgeous quilt and I quilted it!  It was such a simple quilting design but it complemented the piecing nicely.  Here are some close ups that were in an earlier post.

I was totally unaware that this quilt had received the ribbon….. I was setting up my vendor booth when it was announced and the show was so busy, I only got to run around briefly to grab some lunch.  My dear friend Lisa Thiessen (quilting mentor extraordinaire) was kind enough to tell me Sunday afternoon.  What wonderful news coming from the quilter who has many of these awards to her credit!

It was such a great weekend!  We had a busy quilt show with lots of quilters from all over BC and I’m sure from further away too.  I counted 42 quilts in the show that were quilted here at the Flamingo.  It was interesting to see my style ‘evolve’ when a quilt that I had quilted within 6 months of getting my machine was hanging next to one that was quilted a few weeks ago (about 2 1/2 years later) .

Responses

  1. Congratulations Debra!

    The quilting is lovely and it’s wonderfull when you get recognized
    for your beautiful work. Enjoy your winter and again Congrats.

    Noeline

  2. Yay, Debra!!!! I’m so proud of you and happy to call you MY mentor! Hey, do you think my name could go on the quilt, as I sold Lynn the backing???? LOL! Hugs and best wishes,

    Gloria.


Leave a Reply

Categories

